Next coffee concert Saturday 12th August – Music for a While with Robert-John Edwards and Sara Wilander

We look forward to welcoming back Robert-John Edwards (baritone) and Sara Wilander (piano) to Discover DeCrypt, for the next in our coffee concert series. Robert will sing English song, by Purcell, Haydn, Quilter, Britten, Vaughan-Williams and R-J Edwards. The full programme is below.

As always there is coffee and cake available in the schoolroom before the concert, which starts at 11am. Admission is free with donations invited for the performers and church.

Music for a While – Saturday 12th August 11am

Robert-John Edwards (baritone), Sara Wilander (piano)

Henry Purcell (1659-1695) [arr. Benjamin Britten 1913-1976]

  • Music for A While [John Dryden (1631-1700) and Nathanial Lee (1653-1692)]
  • If Music Be The Food Of Love [Henry Heveringham (1651-1700)]

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)

She Never Told Her Love [William Shakespeare (1564-1616)]

Roger Quilter (1877-1953) – Three Shakespeare Songs, Opus 6

  • i. Come Away Death
  • ii. O Mistress Mine
  • iii. Blow, Blow Thou Winter Wind

Robert-John Edwards (1976*)

How Oft When Thou My Music Play’st [Shakespeare]

Ralph Vaughan Williams (1972-1958)

  • Silent Noon [Dante Gabriel Rosetti (1828-1882)]
  • Love Bade Me Welcome (No.3 from Five Mystical Songs) [George Herbert (1593-1633)]
  • Linden Lea (A Dorset Song) [William Barnes (1801-1886)]

Benjamin Britten (1913-1976) – Folk Song Arrangements

  • The Salley Gardens (Eire) – Volume 1: The British Isles
  • The Ash Grove (Wales) – Volume 1: The British Isles
  • Oliver Cromwell (Suffolk Nursery Rhyme) – Volume 1: The British Isles
  • The Miller of Dee (England) – Volume 3: The British Isles
  • The Foggy, Foggy Dew (Suffolk) – Volume 3: The British Isles
  • O Waly, Waly (Somerset – collected by Cecil Sharp) – Volume 3: The British Isles
  • The Crocodile (collected by Broadwood & Fuller-Maitland) – English County Songs